To my friends who still have their mothers…

Darlings,

Like a thief in the night, cancer stole my mother from me. Before she physically died, her spirit and soul were stolen from me by a force bigger and more powerful than me. I could do nothing to slow its course, I could only sit back and let it come. I never imagined I’d lose my mum this way or so soon. I couldn’t have planned or prepared for it. We never believed that it would happen, we just accepted that she was sick and would get better. Fate had other ideas and swooped in and took her away before I ever had the chance to fully realize what was happening.

This Mother’s Day, I am without a mother. I will watch my Facebook feed fill with outcries of love for mothers I know, but I cannot give them. I cannot express my gratitude, despite her imperfections, with lavish love. I cannot thank her for all she taught me about being a a good person, a strong woman, an independent being. I cannot share how much she’s impacted my life. The feelings of loss get easier with time, but I will never be without them. For the rest of my life I will have a hole in my heart, a physical pain that I cannot get rid of.

So, my darling friends who still have their mothers, do me a favour.

Whether you are extremely close or there’s a valley of difference between you, reach out to your mother this week.

Whether you see eye to eye or you can’t agree on much of anything, look your mother in the eyes if you can and tell her how special she is.

Whether she’s loved you well or lacked in affection, tell her how much you appreciate her and and love her.

Whether she’s been your role model or she’s shown you what not to do, tell her how much you’ve learned from her.

Whether she’s been a near perfect mother or a much less than perfect one, she’s still here and that fact alone leaves so much potential for you both.

Call her, embrace her, surround her with your love whether it comes easy or along with tons of baggage.

Reach out for reconciliation if you are estranged.

Reach out in compromise if you are indifferent.

Reach out with time and attention if you are busy.

Reach out with affection if you are reserved.

Reach out with generous love even if you already do it regularly.

I never dreamed I’d spend Mother’s Day without my mum. Please, don’t let another day slip by without connecting with yours.

 

Happy Mother’s Day, friends.

2 thoughts on “To my friends who still have their mothers…

Leave a Reply

